Galaxy Foods Vegan Shreds
I’m in the dark, writing this by candlelight. The curtains are drawn and the phone is disconnected. The vegans are after me, and it’s not going to be pretty if they find me. I’ve desecrated all that is pure and non-animal by slathering the lovely Vegan Shreds I received from Galaxy Foods all over my beef nachos. Oh yes, you better believe it.
I tried to be vegetarian once, but after a week I was cranky and missed bacon and decided that it wasn’t worth the effort. I applaud any gluten-free person out there that’s also vegetarian or vegan, I’m pretty sure those folks exist on rainbows and good intentions since most of the mock vegan/vegetarian food products are made with wheat, like seitan.
I eat non-dairy cheese for one reason – lactose intolerance. I love me some real cheese. I would put a whole cheese wheel on my face and just let it melt into my mouth slowly if it didn’t mean that I would be running off to the bathroom with horrible cramps and beads of sweat on my forehead. My lactose intolerance came on slowly and then suddenly when I was around 13. All of a sudden my ‘gallon of milk’ guzzling days were at an end, and then ice cream became intolerable and then as I got older I couldn’t eat cheese anymore. I turned to soy cheese at some point and found it to be mostly gross, but that was years ago and I have to say, non-dairy cheese products have improved quite a bit since then.
I periodically purchase different non-dairy cheeses to try them on pizzas, or sandwiches, with varying results. I stumbled upon Galaxy Foods Veggy sliced cheese one day at Whole Foods and made grilled cheese with it. Not only did the cheese melt, it actually tasted pretty damn good for all of its fakeness.
When the folks at Galaxy Foods offered the opportunity to try their Mexican and Mozzarella Vegan Shreds I jumped on it since I’m already a fan of Daiya Shredded Cheese and wanted to compare. Galaxy foods have two options for shredded cheese, Veggie and Vegan. Differences between the two are below.
Veggie® — Soy-based, lactose and cholesterol free and available in slices, shreds, blocks and grated toppings in flavors including Pepper Jack, American, Cheddar, Swiss, Mozzarella, Parmesan, Smoked Provolone and blends such as Monterey Jack and Cheddar, Mozzarella and Romano and Cheddar and Pepper Jack. These products do contain casein but are wonderful for lactose intolerant individuals who want an alternative that melts like the real thing. Sold in the produce section of supermarkets. Our Veggie Cream cheese however is completely dairy free - no casein. Gluten-Free.
Vegan®— Soy-based, 100% casein-free and sold in blocks (Cheddar and Mozzarella), slices (American and Mozzarella) and a grated Parmesan topping. Available in natural food stores. As we expand our product lines we are looking at other bases than soy and our new Vegan Shreds do not contain soy. Gluten-Free.
I had no idea what to do with the shreds at first. I thought about doing something lofty with them, but when I get home from work I’m too tired to do anything but drool on the couch in front of the TV most days. We make tacos pretty often in our house, and decided to forgo the usual taco option and make nachos, with succulent beef adorning it. I thought this would be a good chance to try out the 'Mexican' flavored Vegan Shreds.
I have no qualms about mixing vegetarian/vegan products with meat. Most of the times the meat makes the non-dairy products taste better (still true in this case). The toughest thing about non-dairy cheese is getting it to melt. The cheese always has to cook for twice as long and I find it rather annoying when my husband puts his real cheese on whatever he’s eating and runs it through a warm breeze and it melts.
For non-dairy products, the broiler is your friend. Use it liberally. My oven broiler is broken, so I resorted to a toaster oven, but it worked out in the end. The cheese melted and I have to admit it tasted pretty good for being vegan. The cheddar flavor was there, but it didn’t taste spicy or anything like a pepper jack cheese, which is what I assume they were going for. It wasn’t off-putting at all and I devoured the nachos completely.
The mozzarella cheese, however, needs a bit of fine tuning. I was making pizza and thought it would be a good time to try out the moz cheese. The first thing I noticed was the cheese wasn’t white. I thought it was strange, but figured maybe it was a vegan/hippy thing or something to emphasize that they were not trying to even pretend the cheese was real. I sprinkled the cheese and popped my pizza in the oven for about 10 minutes. When I took it out, the cheese was melted and looked a bit whiter. When I cut into it, the texture was very, very runny. I don’t know if the pepperoni I used on the pizza mixed with the cheese and made it dissolve because of the oil, but it was very messy to eat.
The flavor was nothing like mozzarella and I found it to be off-putting at first, but as I ate more it bothered me less and less. Maybe the pepperoni made up for it? Pork makes everything better.
I know a lot of folks out there are also sensitive to casein, and in your case the Vegan product line would be a good option. I don’t know that I’m willing to give up the Veggie product line for the Vegan, but it’s nice to have the option.
And so that’s it. If you don’t see a post in a few days, it’s because the vegans finally got me and are forcefully excising pork from my body…or I’m drunk and can’t be bothered to post. <3