Trick or Gluten-Free Treat?

Sunday, October 31st, 2010 | click here to comment

I love Halloween.  It’s always been one of my favorite holidays and now that I have a little one of my own, it’s even better.  This year I went a little outside of the box with her Halloween costume.  I love the darker side of Halloween and wanted a cute, but slightly devious costume for my almost 2 year old.  I finally decided on a Little Red Riding Hood costume for her after not being able to find a cool Queen of Hearts costume in toddler size.  I spiced it up by making her Little Dead Riding Hood and putting white face paint on her with theater blood.  Yes, I’m a bit wacky, but getting into the Halloween spirit means you have license to be a little wacky, within reason of course.

my little one

My costume this year was one I have been wanting for 10 years, if you can believe it.  I became obsessed with the slightly twisted version of Alice in Wonderland seen in a video game by American McGee called Alice.  She grows up, and after a stint in an insane asylum, goes back to Wonderland and finds it to be a terrible place full of evil creatures that she has to dispatch of – anyone who knows me knows that this is right up my alley!  They finally produced a licensed version of the costume, which I snatched up in AUGUST.  I guess you can say I’m a little crazy for Halloween!

my costume

The best part about Halloween, aside from the fun costumes, is the CANDY of course!  Being gluten-free makes eating mainstream candy a little more challenging for you and your little ones, but fortunately we live in the age of the internet and a quick Google search will reveal whether or not your favorite candy from  your childhood is safe for you to eat and any gluten-free little ones of course! Below is a pretty comprehensive list, but if you don’t see your candy below, just do a search on Google and that should turn up info for you on the manufacturers website.  Please note that while the candies below may not contain any obvious gluten ingredients, you should still exercise caution.  Consult with your doctor and contact the manufacturers directly if you want to be 100% sure. Have a happy and safe Halloween!


GLUTEN FREE HALLOWEEN CANDY LIST

*Due to formula changes and new product introductions, consumers should always read the ingredient statement on the wrapper for the most current information.

TROPICAL SOURCE

o Mint Crunch Dark Chocolate Bar, Raspberry Dark Chocolate Bar,  Rice Crisp Dark Chocolate Bar, Rich Dark Chocolate Bar

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: soy (lecithin), roasted soy flour “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts”

o Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, peanuts and tree nuts

o Toasted Almond Dark Chocolate Bar

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: almonds, soy (lecithin), soy flour “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts”

o Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy and peanuts


WONKA

Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds

o Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy

o Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys

o Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, soy

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: egg

Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew

o Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew, Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope

o Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy

o Free of: wheat/gluten

o *PLEASE NOTE* Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk


JELLY BELLY

Jelly Beans and Candy Corn

o Free of: nut, wheat/gluten, dairy, egg, soy

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: peanut-containing jelly beans produced on same equipment


CE DE CANDY

Smarties, Smarties Lollies

o Free of: peanut, nut, wheat/gluten, dairy, egg, soy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens


TOOTSIE

Charleston Chew

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, soy, egg

Charms Blow Pops

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”

Dots

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, dairy

o Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Tootsie Pops

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)

Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, soy (soybean oil)

Junior Mints:

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”

Dubble Bubble bubble gum:

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: “milk and soy may be present”

Sugar Babies:

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”

Sugar Daddy:

o Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)


MARS

M & Ms Plain

o Free of: wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)

M & Ms Peanut

o Free of: wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy

(lecithin)

Snickers

o Free of: wheat/gluten

o *Please Note* Contains: dairy, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg,

Starburst

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, dairy

o Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Skittles and Skittle Sour

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, dairy

o Contains: None of top 8 allergens

3 Musketeers

Free of wheat/gluten

*PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, egg and soy (lecithin)

3 Musketeers Mint with Dark Chocolate

Free of wheat/gluten

*PLEASE NOTE* Contains: dairy, egg and soy (lecithin)


SPANGLER CANDY

Dum Dum Pops (regular)

o Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nut, peanut, soy, dairy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens


HERSHEY

Milk Duds

o Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts

o *PLEASE NOTE*Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)

Heath Minis

o Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts

o *PLEASE NOTE*Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds

Kisses

o Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy

o PLEASE NOTE* Contains: milk

Almond Joy

o Free of: wheat/gluten, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”

Baby Ruth

o Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)

Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks

o Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, EXCEPT for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin


WRIGLEY

Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: soy (lecithin)

Lifesavers Gummies

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: soy (lecithin)


AIRHEADS

Airheads regular and sour

o Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”


FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

*PLEASE NOTE* “manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”

Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast, Rain-Blo pops, Atomic Fireball, Jawbreakers, Gummi Bears, Sour Brite Crawlers, Smarties, Sweetarts, Jujufruits

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Now and Later Soft

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk

o *PLEASE NOTE* Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil)

Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o *PLEASE NOTE* “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”  Contains: none of the top 8 allergens,

Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg

o *PLEASE NOTE* “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of egg, wheat, peanuts and/or tree nuts” Contains: milk and soybean oil.

Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o *PLEASE NOTE* “Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts, sunflower seeds, milk, soy, eggs and wheat” Contains: none of the top 8 allergens.


JUST BORN

Mike & Ike

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Hot Tamales

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o Contains: none of the top 8 allergens


FERRARA PAN

Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o *PLEASE NOTE* “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.” Contains: none of the top 8 allergens.


CADBURY ADAMS

Sour Patch Kids, Sour Patch Extreme, Sour Patch Fruits, Sour Patch Watermelon, Sour Patch Blue Raspberry, Sour Patch Peach, Sour Patch Cherry, Swedish Fish

o Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy

o Contains: None of top 8 allergens



 

Comment with Disqus