Kellogg's Is Pro-Gluten

Wednesday, July 21st, 2010 | click here to comment

Kellogg's really ruffles my feathers.  Not only are they so far behind the gluten-free bandwagon that they never even saw it stop, they continue to try and ignore the fact that millions of us out there have gluten intolerance/celiac disease and it's not ok.  My motives for posting this are semi-selfish - I have an intense craving for Corn Flakes, and no, not the healthy, new age, gluten-free, cardboard corn flakes I have tried before (Glutino, I am looking at you). 

Let's call a spade a spade, no amount of wishing, hoping or blindfolding will ever make those roof-of-my-mouth cutting knock-offs ever taste as delicate, and delicious as my beloved Corn Flakes (yes, high fructose corn syrup and all). So today I am throwing down the gauntlet, Kellogg's.  Get with the program.  Take the "malt flavoring" OUT of your corn flakes and give the gluten-free folks out there a chance to enjoy a taste from their past again.  Take a page from General Mills' book, reformulate and ultimately cut costs on your production by removing the wheat-based substances from Corn Flakes, Corn Pops AND Rice Krispies too while you're at it.  Wash the lines down or create a dedicated gluten-free line for these products. Just do something and do it soon, or you will miss out on a huge opportunity.

I'm not the only one that feels this way either.  A post from Gluten Free PDX included the statement below from Kellogg's.  They aren't even apologetic about their pro-gluteness! 


Which of your products is gluten- or wheat-free?

At this time, we do not offer products suitable for consumers on a gluten- or wheat-free diet. All of our products are produced in facilities that also manufacture wheat-containing products. We cannot guarantee that any products are 100% gluten- or wheat-free. Kellogg’s® Eggo™ Syrup and Kellogg’s™ Fruit Flavored Snacks are formulated gluten and wheat-free and may be acceptable for consumers on restricted diets. However, these products are produced in facilities that also manufacture other products that contain wheat. Consumers have varying sensitivities to gluten, and although we follow approved standardized manufacturing practices, some consumers are so sensitive that even wheat dust that may be in the product can result in a reaction. Therefore, we do not have any products that are gluten-free. Kellogg’s® Corn Pops and Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies might be suitable, depending on gluten sensitivity. Corn Pops have a very small amount of wheat starch added, and Rice Krispies have a small amount of malt flavoring, made from barley. Check with your personal physician to determine if these products are suitable for you.

It is deplorable that a company as large as Kellogg's cannot/will not reformulate a few cereals to be GF.  It's time we let Kellogg's know how we feel!  Who is with me?  :)



 

Comment with Disqus